Don Glaser

Dulltool

Elite Cafe Member
I just read on the GRS page that Ron Glaser passed away. I've been studying his engraving tapes for six months now... It kinda came as a shock.... It's almost like I knew him. When did he move on?

Thanks,
Dennis

fegarex

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Don Glaser (Sr.) passed away about 2 years ago. Not only was he quite an innovator but truly just a great man.

Peter E

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Don, who was the current president of GRS DJ Glaser's father, passed away some time ago. At least a few years ago. I read about him on the GRS Website. He was quite an accomplished man to say the least.

Peter

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
::::Pledge Member::::
Quote by Sam............
Don would have really enjoyed this forum.

He sure would have enjoyed the Cafe, Sam.
And would have added some of his Tennessee Ernie Ford like zingers here and there.
Sure miss seeing the twinkle he usually had in his eyes.

Last edited:

Barry Lee Hands

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Don Glaser was a very gracious man. This is a picture of Lee griffith, myself and DJ Glaser looking over his shoulder in Dons' basement studio.
A little later we went upstairs for " hobo stew".
He would always want to come into my classes to demonstrate some western engraving, and would ask many questions about my time at Gist engravers and other western shops.
He always expressed an interest in anyones engraving work, and would say " Isn't the world a better place with more beautiful things in it?".

M

mcrapo

Barry

Thanks for sharing that great photo of Don. I never got the chance to meet the man, and wish that I would have had the chance. It is great to see his workshop, and to hear about him. Him and Mr. Meek are two people I wish I had the change to meet.

Mike

dclevinger

Elite Cafe Member