colored gold

qndrgnsdd

Elite Cafe Member
15 carat blue gold: fine gold .625; fine silver.250; pure nickle .125 OR in english (Troy) 12 dwt 12 grains fine gold, 5 dwt fine silver, 2dwt 12 grains pure nickle. How about pale violet .917 fine gold .083 pure aluminum. Blue-grey gold .750 fine gold, .250 iron. Now before y'all get excited and go wasting gold on these alloys to use for inlay let me say that they are all hard and/or very brittle.
Since you don't have to worry about stamping laws for the metals you use for inlay you can find the most malleable alloy. I don't see any reason that a gold-copper alloy with just enough copper to make it pink should work harden any faster than than pure copper. I'm not very experienced in the inlay department, but I have used a gold-copper 14K alloy for a red gold bracelet that was amazingly soft and malleable, and only .585 gold content. So take pure gold and add copper to it in very small doses until the desired color is reached and it should inlay just fine without needing a backing plate. Don't add any other metal just pure oxy-free copper. I can't see a reason why it would work harden any faster than the copper in the alloy. The formulas for the colored golds are from a 1927 book by George E. Gee

www.walkergoldsmiths.com

pilkguns

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Wowwwwww the things you learn on this forum. I have been searching for blue gold formula for almost 20 years on 3 continents, I literally spent over $200 on long distance phone calls back in the day when calls where more expensive and no one knew, but call this guy and he might. I called England France, Germany and Australia plus all over the US. Now boom here it is. Now I will have to go try some... Are there any directionss for mixing it. First one hold at so many degrees then ad. ??... we tried the iron mix, but all we got was a crumbly mess.