Cameo---30 years in the making!

Doc Mark

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
No, it didn't really take me 30 years to carve this cameo, just 30 years to finish it! The story goes like this. Not long after I studied how to carve cameos while traveling in an out of Italy while I was stationed on the U.S.S. Nimitz, I saw this fascinating statue in the Vatican Museum. It is a Hellenistic work from the First Century BC, a period which is often called the "Rococo of Antiquity". It was actually a fountain originally. Any way, I started carving it while I was still steaming around on the ship. When I got home I was almost finished when the background part of the shell fractured completely across the top! I was so P.O. that I tossed the stupid thing, still mounted on the piece of wood I was using to hold it in my old Pana-Vise, into a drawer and forgot about it. Every once in a while I would stumble across it and get mad all over again. Then a few months ago, I bought a new book on Cameos and read that some jewelers were taking old broken Cameos and cutting off the entire backgrounds and remounting these pieces as earrings. Well the light dawned and I decided to finish what I had started. I completed the carving details and VERY carefully removed the colored background shell. I then carved an Ivory frame to match the size of the original oval and mounted the carving on a piece of felt that approximated the original color. I'm not satisfied with the "fuzzy" appearance of the background so I am still looking for a more suitable material to redo the mounting.

The subject is a Marine Centaur (or Triton) carrying off a rather forlorn Nereid. The two Erotes (Putti in Italian sculptures) are mocking her. One has his ear cupped to listen to her laments, the other one has his finger to his lips to hush her.

The original Cameo, without the ivory frame was 2.5 inches wide. So there is a lot happening in a rather small area.

Attachments

• Cameo-Marine-centaur-Nereid-Erotes---lower-detail.jpg