Question: bevel cuts

JenBrockman

So....I'm just learning. I was fiddling around with this trying to figure out the beveled cuts on leaves. More than anything I have such a tough time with "rolling" the graver to get a beveled cut. I just CAN NOT figure that out! Practice practice practice....I know. I will get it eventually. My question is.....are there rules to bevel cutting? You should cut towards the inside right? Any other rules.
This is a practice piece i was messing around with. I think the design belongs to Sam, it was a practice design I printed from the cafe.
I can point out lots of ooops now that I look at the pic....i didn't back cut, see lots of "flat" spots, lines crooked, a few I deviated from the design and mucked it up, etc.....it all comes with learning. And like I said....just fiddling so this is not something I would consider to be a nice finished piece.
Suggestions??? Advice???

Attachments

• 2012-08-08 19 58 30.jpg
    2012-08-08 19 58 30.jpg
    125.3 KB · Views: 379

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Jen: I would say that the 'rules' are 1.) to always bevel to the inside of the element that you're engraving, and 2.) always cut thin to thick. Following those two rules will get you on the right track, and based on your photo, you're getting close.

The rule of thumb for ornamental engraving is that the graver is rolled to the inside of each element. I cut scroll backbones straight up and down, or if I do roll, it's barely apparent. So if you roll to the inside, then the deepest part of the cut is around the outside of the element, and the shallowest part of the cut is on the inside.

You might also want to practice these cuts with a smaller scroll as beveling larger elements requires more graver control than smaller ones. I would scale that design down and cut it again, and I think you'll notice a difference.

Here's a recent thread I started on this very topic: The Importance of Beveling Cuts

monk

Staff member