Question: beginners advice

spuggie30

hi all
my name is wayne i am 30yrs old from england,i am totally new to engraving and this forum, i am looking for some advice on what equipment i would need and where i can purchase it from,any help would be greatly appreciated

thank you

golden forge

Elite Cafe Member
Welcome Wayne,
The first thing you will want to do is go to the Tips Archive page of this forum, Same has a list of tool list for the beginner. Give it a read, and do some poking around in the Archive, you will have a lot of your early questions answered, there is a monumental amount of information here available for you to read.

dlilazteca

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Basically all your questions have been answered, they have been asked many times, make good use of the search button.

Carlos De La O III

DKanger

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Wayne,
In addition to asking your questions, you should put your location in your profile so it appears in your postings. There are a number of forum members residing in various parts of England who might provide an invitation to visit them or provide lessons if you live close, or provide other resources within your country. A chance to talk to an engraver face-to-face is always preferable to trying to learn over the internet; and will usually get you on the correct path without wasting funds buying non-productive equipment.

phil

Elite Cafe Member
Sutton tools in Hockley, Birmingham are the UK suppliers of GRS products as well as H.S. Walsh also in Hockley, Birmingham. Both offer a mail order service and stock vices, gravers, optivisors etc. First thing to buy is a pencil, paper and a large supply of erasers.

dogcatcher

Elite Cafe Member