Apprenticeships - back on thread

Roger B

Elite Cafe Member
Here in the US I served a four year apprenticeship as a Joiner (Cabinetmaker) through The United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America (Carpenters Union). I started at 22 and applied through the Union rather than a shop. I spent the first six months in school at the education center sponsored by the Brotherhood and a group of business owners dedicated to having a steady supply of skilled cabinet makers. I worked part-time (4 Hours per day) in various shops doing sweeping and related cleanup chores and general gofer work at half journeyman pay. I studied safety, joints, history, design, etc. with increasing hours in the shop and less time in school until I worked full time and went to school at night. Responsibilities increased as I covered various aspects of the trade. Machine operations, finishing and so forth. Pay raises occurred on 6 month intervals until I took my journeymen's test after the full four years. After two years in the shops I was assigned my first apprentice. Fred

I don't know what happens overseas but I feel apprenticeships seem to be an increasing thing of the past - especially in jewellery and in Oz I don't know of any engraving apprenticeships. Other trades may still carry them on but these seem to be trades that have a strong union or guild background. If jewellers or engravers do not have a vocal lobby group to push for the training it just won't happen.

Roger

oakleave

Hello Engraving Enthusiasts and linguistic experts,
I like to apologize for the misspelling.
My intention was to share some engraving apprenticeship idears or inspiration for beginning engravers. Especilly the hardship and repetion of work is often underestimated.
If I had imagined this linguistic discussion I would not have posted it.
This is a great engraver forum and we should focus on engraving
Cheers.
Bernie

Brian Marshall

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Stockton, California & Taxco, Guerrero, Mexico