another beginner

smason

Howdy,

I have just started engraving a couple weeks ago. here is a pair of earrings I recently made for practice. Please feel free to give any constructive criticism you may have, I have thick skin, you won't insult me.

My real job is a custom saddle maker. also attached are a couple photos of my saddle work.

Thanks for all the info on this site, it seems to be a real valuable resource.
Steve Mason IMG_4009.jpg [/ATTACH]

Attachments

• DSCF0167.jpg
    DSCF0167.jpg
    151.8 KB · Views: 288
  • IMG_3975.jpg
    IMG_3975.jpg
    146.2 KB · Views: 280

Dirtdigger

Hi!
I really like both of them, leatherwork and earrings!
I have allways admired those carved saddles and i´ve done some leathercarving for motorcycles my self, but nothing as nice as your saddle.
Those earrings are really nice and simple looking design and as a newbie myself i can only admire your engraving work!

mdengraver

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Great stuff, good design. Your very experienced and not a beginner. The only thing that has changed is your canvas from leather to metal. Looking forward to seeing more of your extraordinary work!

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i like the earrings. esp the fact that they are both different. your cutting looks clean to me, and works well with the flowers. i'd say just keep at it, and have fun and earn some money doing it. if i owned a horse, i know the critter would love the saddle. just curious-- start to finish-- how many hours to complete such a gem ?

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Your leatherwork background shows in the engraving - and it looks nice! We see similar things when tattooists take up engraving - a very interestingly different style.

Haraga.com

~ Elite 1000 Member ~