1st post advice: GRS Benchmate & Acrobat stand?

alFrumpus

Hello everyone. I'm Allan from Saskatoon, Canada. I found your site while googling for information on microscopes and GRS Acrobat stands. I believe I have only begun to pry the lid away on this vast engraving resource which is your forum. Thanks to whomever started the site! (Sam?)

I hate to be long-winded, but I thought I'd give some background before asking advice. My questions are mostly directed to goldsmiths/jewellers, but in general to anyone who can give advice on bench ergonomics:

I have been apprenticing as a goldsmith for four years. In 2005 I spent a couple days in Geneva with Kees Englebarts ( www.kees.ch - stunning work!). I fell in love with his microscope-approach for hand-engraving and have wanted one ever since. Now after four years of trying to adjust my chair/bench/tool set-up to alleviate irritating upper beck/neck pain (and problems below), I spent the last two weeks researching workplace ergonomics. I found that:

A. I tilt my head down too much to view with a loupe (neck pain, almost every day)
B. I lean my torso forward over my tray too much to reach my benchpeg (back pain)
C. I raise my "tool hand" elbow too high when engraving/burnishing, etc. (arm-numbness)
D. I press my "clamp hand" elbow too hard into my bench/tray (forearm numbness)
E. I pinch my "tool" hand too hard - especially when burnishing (finger pain/numbness)
F. I pinch my "clamp" hand fingers too tightly when filing/engraving tiny objects (finger pain/numbness)
G. Since I lean my torso forward, my legs feel most comfortable UNDER my chair to counterbalance (causes knee-joint problems)

(Geez, what a list! I never compared myself to Quasimodo before this moment.)