Help, please: To much to fast?

Beladran

Elite Cafe Member
Been tired of cutting lines, circles, waves etc etc boring stuff..so I tried to "walk" today

Well I think I stumbled an fell face first !! Sam's videos makes this stuff look like easy mode...

James Roettger

Elite Cafe Member
To me boring stuff has always been anything like practice plates or other exercises . I did all my learning on "live" pieces with an end product always in my sight. This is how I motivated myself to learn. I started with small accent lines and details on my jewelry castings. Over time I graduated to more difficult work as my skills grew. Once in a while I may do a practice pattern before going to a live piece when the stakes are high. I am always amazed when I see these elaborate and often fine practice plates people do. I look at it and figure too bad it's on a plate instead of a moderately priced gun or piece of jewelry where the world will appreciate it. I think what is important to recognize is people need different paths to learn depending on their inclinations. In high school my art teacher always let us do whatever we wanted and everybody in the class did different stuff from each other and all could observe and learn from the variety. My high school teacher then sent my to his college where the teachers then had the same free spirit approach letting competent students do whatever they wished. Later a new faculty came in and rote learning was introduced with rigid, narrow assignments all the way through. I felt glad to have been able to experience the free style (circa 1970's) of education which is actually pretty rare.

Last edited:

Artemiss

Elite Cafe Member
A good friend once told me to 'treat every piece like it's the most important piece of your life'.
This gives you a very good frame of mind to do your best.

Jo

Willem Parel

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I very much like the honesty of your posting, most of us would keep it to themselfes if it go's wrong this way.