Suggestions for an affordable watch worth engraving

Travis Fry

I'm relatively new at this, but coming along quite well. Call me an advanced beginner, or maybe simply intermediate. I'd kinda like to engrave a watch, but I'm at the stage where it would behoove me to not make my first attempt on an expensive one. There's a 99.75% chance I'd keep and wear this myself (or give it away to a friend or family member), so resale is not an issue, nor is the whole "lipstick on a pig" argument. I have basic jewelry skills and am pretty clever with my hands, so assembly and disassembly is most likely (hopefully) not an issue. I'd like to do the face, as well as the band and case, and maybe even the back.

Can anyone suggest a watch I should start with that would engrave well? Maybe a stainless kit you've used? Links, if they're allowed, would be extra handy.

Thanks!

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
::::Pledge Member::::
Andrew Biggs, the editor of "The Engraver", has a lot of experience with engraving and engravable watches.
You might try contracting him and see if he can advise you.
Best of luck with your project and post pictures of it on the FEGA forum please.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
There are numerous watch cases available on eBay. Take your pick. A popular one is an Explorer style case which is pretty beefy and has room for engraving. If you prefer one with a rotating bezel there are plenty of those as well, but the bezel should be removed prior to engraving.

Be prepared for some tough steel and awkward workholding. Nearly every watch case today is made of 316L stainless steel except for Rolex which uses 904. You might also consider a bronze case for ease of engraving and they develop an attractive patina over time.