small stainless folder engraved by monk

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i failed to follow my own advice. was going to try "western" style for the first time. didn't prepare a drawing.without a drawing, disaster soon follows !

Attachments

• WINK3A.JPG
    WINK3A.JPG
    35.7 KB · Views: 339

monk

Staff member
no , this stuff must have been in the 400 series. it cut very easily. i took the foto, if you want to call it a foto, with a canon powershot. the camera is good, i'm a lousy photographer.

pappy

Elite Cafe Member
Actually, Monk, it looks pretty good to me, especially for a first try at western style without a drawing. Where did you get the Winchester knife, and was it exepensive?

monk

Staff member
it was given to me. i don't think it was expensive. i'll try to find out.

Brian Hochstrat

Elite Cafe Member
I will say stainless is not the most fun to bright cut. A couple things to keep in mind, one, leave space between your backbone and the start of the bright cut (have a look at the bright cut tutorial I did a while back and you will see what I mean), and second avoid running your leaves in opposite directions, as you did in the beginning of your design. Your first attempt was much better than my first. Hopefully we will see some more. Good luck, Brian

richard hall

Elite Cafe Member
i doubt that the great engravers of old had to draw what was already in their head, it was practiced there no doubt, but, they had cut such a peice, many times before. anyone would love to be the proud owner of such a nice folder.

RT Bit and Spur

Elite Cafe Member
Monk
For a first attempt, The knife looks great. You should see my first attempt at some single point engraving you do.
Rod

monk

Staff member
too late, to re design. will give serious thought to that the next time. i did look at your page. i clearly see what you mean. thanks

jdumars