Sharpening advice for beginner

SEKernan

I am just starting to learn about push hand engraving, what tools I need to set up, what fits within my budget, etc. I am trying my best to source tools as budget friendly as possible, I am hesitant to drop a lot of money on a professional set up until I get a better feel for the craft / if my store would be interested in helping with the cost down the line (If I prove good work). My starting goal is to work on practice plates, move onto simple jewelry engraving (no stone setting), and then far down the line to gun engraving.

The GRS YouTube channel, Sam's channel, Master Engraver TV, Caleb Kraft, and this cafe has been super helpful.

I am planning to purchase the GRS C-Max Graver and Handle Kit as my first graver (I liked the simple set up for my first, though was considering ordering pieces off of Stuller instead), I have copper plates, there is a engraving ball at my store they will let me use, and I was going to purchase a magnifying visor off of amazon since microscope set ups are out of the question right now. My only hang up and what I cannot figure out on my own is the best process or tool I can purchase for sharpening. I have looked at the Lindsey Universal Sharpening Fixture, but is there an even more price friendly option? $100 for one piece just makes me pause, but I know I can't be stingy forever.

Any advice on sharpening or of my purchase plans would be very appreciated!

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
welcome to the forum. there are many videos on youtube that show how sharpening on a budget can be done. sam alfano, the forum lanmdlord sells an xcellent dvd on sharpening. quality engraving has been done for a few hundred years without a "sharpening system". it is still done this very day without such a toy. however, a "system" will insure good, consistent angles every time. esp for push work, for a newbie, i'd advise getting a system that allows any angle to be sharpened.