Sculpture Engraving First Attempt

Artist007

Hello all,

I bought Sam Alfano's online video "Deep Relief Sculpting, Master Class" and gave it a try. I highly recommend this video. Here are my first attempts. Doing the first one, the dagger, I didn't have my controls set right, which didn't give me very much power to move the metal. But the second, the stainless, I got the settings right on my Gravermach AT, and the metal moved like butter! The stainless scroll is a Sam Alfano design I believe, which I found online. Made for a good practice design.

BenTurner

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
This looks really great! I have never done deep relief sculpting before. Are you peening the metal with a burnisher or something?

Artist007

This looks really great! I have never done deep relief sculpting before. Are you peening the metal with a burnisher or something?
Thank you. Pretty much peening. Sam Alfano's video really does a good job of showing how to create the tools, and how to use them. It's worth the money. But basically ends up being like a tiny jackhammer.

Artist007

What were your final settings?
FYI, I have three different hand pieces. I have the Monarch AT (palm controlled), the 901 Standard (foot controlled), and the Magnum Palm (foot controlled). I haven't even used the Magnum yet. I have just been using the Monarch and the 901.