school days

Frank P

Elite Cafe Member
here s a drawing we got back in the days at Leon Mignon Engraving School Liège ..
if i m not wrong..it was the examen at the end of the first year !? seems so long time ago.. original size 40 x 50 mm
oh yes... any transferring was absolutely forbidden .. mirror polish the rough plate,draw, complete and engrave... :hammer:
thought it would be a good exercise or even an inspiration..
have a nice holiday
:beerchug:
Frank

Attachments

• ex 5  pg.jpg
    ex 5 pg.jpg
    158.7 KB · Views: 207

bram ramon

Elite Cafe Member
Hey Frank,

Cool you have been a student at Leon Mignon too! I'm a student at Leon Mignon now, we still have the same plate. It was our 5th plate we did we did not have it as an exam. And indeed no transferring, mirror polish the rough plate,draw, complete and engrave...The hard old school way! Here is the plate i did..Rubbish when i look at it now..:)

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
good trianing under a good taacher

Ken,mdengraver,This is what I've been telling you,our fellow engravers in Eurpope go though a four year apprenticeship no nonsense,they start out when teenagers and are master engravers by the time there twenty.So when you see there work remember the time they put in,and all with :hammer::fastgraver:J.J.

thughes

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
I'm gonna show my ignorance again. What is evil about transferring. Now I'm clearly no real engraver or anything, but what difference does it make if you draw something with your own hand, then transfer it? I am sure it's a lot harder to draw it so small, etc. but what difference does it make. I know I'm opening myself up for a beating here, but I'm curious.

Doc Mark

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
"What is evil about transferring."