Oakleave templates

oakleave

During the last engrave in I talked with a few engravers regarding making some oakleave templates for engraving oakleave designes, similar to the scrool templates available. I like to see if there would be interest in the engraver comunity for this kind of templates. Please let me know if you would be interesteed or have some interesting oakleave designes.
Have a great day
Bernie

Dale Hatfield

Elite Cafe Member
Bernie
I would be interested. Pending on just exactly what you mean by templates. My results with scroll templates are unsuccessful at best. As well as what style of Oak leaf you used.
Post a few pics of what you might have in mind.
Thanks
Dale

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
i know it's close to christmas, but i'm gonna be bad anyway ! why not just learn to draw them?. go to the google image button, there's probably a couple thousand images there from which to study. just my attempt to be helpful.unless you're an absolute newbie to this art, i advise against using templates. their use in no way improves upon your skill level. some time ago, using my laser, i created all manner of scroll spines, as well as many different sizes of each. guess what- i don't like using them.they do show what is supposed to be, but not how to generate your own.

mitch

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
hi Bernie, oak leaves are not my style, but i will say that you should make sure you are studying good examples as there is a lot of very bad oak leaf engraving out there (this advice holds for any style, btw). my recommendations would be to study Weldon Lister's and Heinrich Frank's.

Red Green

Elite Cafe Member
Hi,