Non Artist Needs a lot of Help

Sandy

Elite Cafe Member
I am some what nervous about showing anything that I have drawn. As I have said in other threads I am not an artist. But with constructive critique you grow. I have several books on engraving, Meeks, Smith and others. I study these books at great length. However the mechanical side will not let the artistic side of my brain out. What do I need to do?:) :confused:

Attachments

• img073 (Small).jpg
    img073 (Small).jpg
    48.9 KB · Views: 262

Dave London

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Practice,practice,practice. Draw,draw draw good start keep it up and it will come around. I know it is hard still is for me also.

jimzim75

Elite Cafe Member
Someone once told me. I don't remember who. When you draw, treat each drawing as though you were going to sell it.
Try not to make little forgivable mistakes. I think what they were trying to tell me was, think it out before the pencil hits
the paper. You shouldn't never be embarrassed to show someone your practice drawing. Because they're your best attempt.
It also developes good work habits.

Last edited:

Brian Hochstrat

Elite Cafe Member
Sandy, The biggest thing to keep in mind when drawing scroll work is FLOW and TAPER. You backbone has to flow smoothly kind of like the tracks of a figure skater. Then all the fill (leaves, fennels,ect.) must taper smoothly into the backbone. Study the master engravers work and you will see what I am trying to describe. Not to repeat everyone else but, yes, practice, practice.

Andrew Biggs

Hi Sandy

Well, I think you've made a gutsy move by posting your drawing. Well done.

There are a few things that you can do to improve things in the future..........so in no particular order, here goes.