NGraver leaving little lines

chaplin37

I am new to hand engraving. I noticed that when I use the NGraver I get these tiny lines and wanted to know if anyone else has experienced this? Also has anyone experienced this with a Lindsay graver or any other machine? Trying to figure if this is just normal for an NGraver since it is much more inexpensive then the systems out there. Thanks everyone

Addertooth

According to the manufacturers blurb... can be adjusted for light to heavy engraving. Assuming you have it adjusted for heavy engraving, your tip geometry may be off on the graver bit. Too much heel can also lead to shallow engraving with significant drag marks.

mgdesigns

Take a picture of the engraved item and try to zoom in. Also show the actual graver. Remember whatever the surface of the graver is, that gets translated into the metal being engraved.

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Chaplin37,

Your NgraveR will cut the same cut as any other method or system. It is the graver that makes the cut. The NgraveR only propels the graver, as does a Lindsay or GRS. I can't tell from your description what these "tiny lines" you are writing about are. You say they are in the cut. They may be progression marks, similar to what is created by hammer and chisel. Pneumatic systems leave only microscopic progression marks.

Here is a link to Progress Marks in my glossary: http://www.engravingglossary.com/Hand Engraving Glossary P.htm

chaplin37

Looks like that is what they are, progress marks. Is that a normal thing? and if not is there anyway to avoid them?

chaplin37

Thank you for the info, now one more question, what angel degree should you hold the graver at? I have a video but it doesn't talk about it. I either cut too light or too deep. I keep trying to find a happy medium. If anyone has a picture that would be great. thanks

Brian Marshall

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Stockton, California & Taxco, Guerrero, Mexico