newbie question

Jeff Olson

A little background my name is Jeff i've been a jeweler for25 yrs. I just got into hand engraving a couple of years ago just as a hobby and for custom work on jewelry. Being An avid gun guy naturally the progression is to start engraving guns. My question is on pricing being still a novice engraver what is the going price on gun engraving. Any help would be appreciated. This is a piece I'm working on at the moment

Attachments

• 2012-04-09_16-51-47_913.jpg
    2012-04-09_16-51-47_913.jpg
    63.9 KB · Views: 197

Ed Westerly

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I have had the same question in the past, so at this year's FEGA show, I asked all of the master engravers what they would have charged to engrave two of the guns I had on my table. One was full coverage, relieved and stippled, with 9.5' of 24 kt gold wire. The other was open German scroll, full coverage, no relief no gold. There was a very wide range of answers, and the knowledge I came away with was that the price you can get depends at least on the following factors.
1. How much do you need to be paid to make it worth your time?
2. How well known are you?
3. Are there a fair number of collectors who like your work?
4. Are you as good as you think you are?
5. Is your work innovative, unique and interesting?
6. There may be other lessons, but those are the ones that come to mind at the present.

Jeff Olson