New to hand engraving

PMBurk

Hello,
I am new to engraving and I have a set of engravers varying from 30-120 degrees, 14 tungsten carbide tools. Within the set, there are various shapes. Knives, flats, olongettes, home plate shaped, and a couple diamond shaped gravers.
I have some copper disks to practice, a engraver’s vise, optivisor, and I created some patterns/stencils to use with the acetone transfer technique. I have tried to engrave a couple times and I know I have a nice long journey ahead me with engraving. So I am patient and willing to learn.
I tried a 30 degree knife and the work looks like a cheap scratching.
Any suggestions as to what shape engraver is a good starter?
Thank you
Patrick

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
welcome to the forum. to answer yer question--i think the knife graver is a poor start. i would first use a 90. 45 face, 15 heel for lift. you did not mention that you had a pencil. learning to draw and design well is just as important as learning to use the variety of gravers you have.
i suggest the 90 as i feel it will be much easier for you to learn to control it. you will find each graver style/geometry has a different "feel" to it and the way it cuts.. good luck in your endeavor.

PMBurk

welcome to the forum. to answer yer question--i think the knife graver is a poor start. i would first use a 90. 45 face, 15 heel for lift. you did not mention that you had a pencil. learning to draw and design well is just as important as learning to use the variety of gravers you have.
i suggest the 90 as i feel it will be much easier for you to learn to control it. you will find each graver style/geometry has a different "feel" to it and the way it cuts.. good luck in your endeavor.