New guy

rgh25

I am learning to engrave..that said I will explain, I picked up some gravers and a hammer left over on a trade and became interested in learning how to work with them. Found it rather difficult so I went on you tube and watched some video's on the subject. There is no one around here that does engraving, one thing led to another and I built a air graver system from one of the video's ( I am a machinist so no problem) and purchased a set of gravers and templates from Steve Lindsey. Found the air system works much better for my needs at this time, being on a fixed income limits some purchases.
This brings me to the question, are there any books I can use for developing patterns for practice? I did down load some patterns from the internet attributed to Sam Alfano they have been a great help in learning to follow lines and some shading and basic work.
Right now this is a hobby I make spurs and bits from time to time and would be nice to do the silver work myself. Besides it is fun

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
::::Pledge Member::::
New Guy, where are you located???
It would be a big help if you and others looking for help would post their general location in their bio.

monk

Staff member
i wont advise which to buy, they are all good. be sure to start with the very basic scroll. no sense in practicing the more complicated layouts. no sense in going complex when the basics are a struggle. welcome to the forum,and good luck in yer adventure.

Dave London

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Start by cutting straight lines ,when there are no curves and the depth and width are the same. Cut them some more till each line is perfect. Then start on circles same thing. Yep boring but necessary. At least it was for me.
Cold rolled mild steel works good for practice plates, a lot less scale.good luck have fun

JohnC