More Fun With Letters

Mike Dubber

Elite Cafe Member
One of my previous Threads was titled "Fun With Ciphers." This time I wanted to show the kind of thing I really like to do! This brass trophy plate is about 1 1/2" X 5" in size and was to be mounted on a very nice shadow box that displays 20 silver and gold wild game coins.

I could have simply cut some letters, but like Sam, I can't stand it - plain old lettering just won't do!:chip:

Mike Dubber

Elite Cafe Member
Thanks Andrew - that's 'cause I'm an Olde Worlde engraver !! Really, I get involved in these kinds of excersises and I'm a Nimschke wanna-be!

mdengraver

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
That's wonderful! Would love to see an enlargement of that! Mike your work is exquisite! Just wondering were you self taught or did you have formal training?

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
That's a grand slam lettering job, Mike! That is super nice. Not many engravers who can design and cut something of that caliber. Bravo!! :clapping:
~Sam

Mike Dubber

Elite Cafe Member
To respond to a few questions:

The gravers I used on this plate were the 120 UPP, the Speitzer, and a 1mm Wriggle. I always lay out with pencil over Chinese White, then after the letters are cut, I add the embellishment using the remaining open space.

I learned to engrave letters and inscriptions in the jewelry business - there was no time to waste and no computers to generate transfers. Years and experience provided vision for spacing and layout, so I learned to do it that way or go broke! Having said that, I have recently experimented with computers and transfers to check my work. I've discovered that I could improve my alignment and centering - and actually speed the time required for layout by using the computer and transfers. I'm just too Olde Worlde to do it! I encourage students to use the computer to generate tansfers to lay out lines of inscription like this.