Help, please: I am new but I am trying

newbe2

Ok I have been practicing for about a month with different metals I have a long way to go. I have bought the graversmith and the magnum hand peace and working under a 3 1/2 to 22 power microscope. I have tried the flat and 110 and 120 graver with 15 or 20 degree heel. I am using Cmax, Hss. I am sharping on 1500 diamond lap. I am trying my hand at engraving a gun it is ss but it is wanting to chip out from underneath when I make a sharp turn or it goes to beep.

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
newbe2,Way to go engraving a gun this soon, haven't you read Sam's thread on engraving gun to early. Please stop think about what your doing, we are were to help but it seems you newbes are not listening. J.J.

tim wolf

Elite Cafe Member
Hi newbe2.
i'm a newbie to and what JJ is trying to say is that you should practice on practiceplates, there are also nice gadgets for sale to engrave(moneyclips, keytags, small knives...) you can find them on the GRS website. because for sure you will ruin your gun!!!!
I practice evereday, between 2 and 5 hours a day and i'm not thinking about engraving a gun until i'm ready (and that will take a few years...:)
Timwolf

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::