How nessasary is a class?

Hello all! I am a beginner jeweler (trying to make it a career and learning everyday) and I want to learn how to hand / push engrave and engrave for stonesetting to give myself more tools in my skills toolbox. I had a professor of mine tell me it was not worth it to learn on my own, and that I have to take a class or have a mentor. Is this true? I can't afford a GRS class right now (though I would like to take one in the future!) and there is no engravers / setters in my area who I can ask to mentor me at this moment (waiting to hear back about some apprenticeships).

Curious everyone’s thoughts!

Thanks!

Alternatively - are there any video courses that I could purchase that anyone recommends?

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
taking a class is not mandatory. neither is the success of your engraving mandatory. if at all possible, a class is the way to go. there's tons of videos on the net-- free. also many are available by known professionals. welcome to the forum and good luck

gcmeleak

Loads of assum videos on utube. To me the most important tool is a rock solid ball vise, at least 20 pounds. Loads and loads of practice plates, start out with copper. You will need to learn to sharpen your bits. Dull bits equal crap results. This skill requires a very large learning curve as well as a monetary investment. If you are under the impression that you can learn this in a few months guess again, maybe years and decades are more of a realistic view.

Mike576

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
As others have said, a class isn’t 100% needed but shaves months or years off the learning curve. I took a few online classes from Wes Griffin. Great investment! I also recommend buying some casting plates. They are a resin exact copy of and engraving. Fega has a bunch available, some good some horrible. Try to buy them direct from makers if you can. Great for close up inspection under the scope to understand different cuts.

Best of luck!