yakob

Hi

I am in trouble to draw and engrave sky / cloud

Could you please give me some advice.

Thanks

JJ Roberts

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
yakob,When I was a painter I meet Eric Sloane painter and author illustrator of books on early American Life and he gave a book that he wrote and illustrated for artist, Skies and the Artist how to draw clouds and sunsets.You can find it on Amazon,as for engraving skys and clouds I use the bulino dot technique. J.J.

Big-Un

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Clouds are nothing more than light and shadow on rounded shapes, so treat them as such. Most times for engraving clouds, they are rendered as "hints," rather than actual objects,

Bill

Christian DeCamillis

Elite Cafe Member
Yakob,

Yes to what both Sam and Bill said. Do yourself a favor and don't try to engrave clouds . As suggested just do some light and dark areas to suggest clouds. If you try to get too dramatic with them you will regret trying it.

Chris

dlilazteca

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I'm not sure how much I can share here concerning the book engraving historic firearms by John shippers but on page 386 he touches base and how to engrave clouds

Carlos De La O III

SamW

Castle Valley, UT in the Red Rock country
Yakob, here is an example of clouds that I have done. Trying to add more detail than this can get out of hand quickly. And I assure you being a meteorologist will not help.

Attachments

• Cloud example.jpg
    Cloud example.jpg
    157.6 KB · Views: 236

SamW