Hello from Arkansas

goodsteel

Hello!
I am a gunsmith in Conway Arkansas. I am dying to get into engraving, but the cost of the GRS Gravermeister is cost prohibitive. I have lots of experience carving leather, and finishing metal (obviously) and when it comes to hand tools and coordination, I'm usually a pretty quick study.

I was hoping there might be someone local that I might be able to spend a few hours who can show me some things to wet my whistle. Much as I enjoy the idea of one day owning a Gravermiester, I really would like to see how to do it the old fashioned way as first, and I learn best seeing and doing.
Can somebody help me out?
Thanks a million!

auto45lee

Come to the Arkansas Custom Knife Show Feb.21 and 22 Statehouse Convention Center 101 E. Markham.You will be able to make contacts. GRS may be there and you can talk with those nice folks. Email me info@fergusonknives.com with your mailing address and I will send you FREE pass to get in.

goodsteel

OK, I watched the video on my phone (hope the data charges don't kill me LOL!)
Very very informative! I could tell he was really rusty though (ha ha!!)

This is very close to what I was attempting when my tools kept breaking. What steel do you guys make your gravers out of? Gotta be pretty tough! Maybe I should take another run at it, but temper the gravers a little more. Hmmmmm.

Thanks for posting!

goodsteel

Come to the Arkansas Custom Knife Show Feb.21 and 22 Statehouse Convention Center 101 E. Markham.You will be able to make contacts. GRS may be there and you can talk with those nice folks. Email me info@fergusonknives.com with your mailing address and I will send you FREE pass to get in.

Done! Thank you sir!
I think we may have met at previous shows. Seems like I remember your name.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
there's much information here. excellent advice and many, many tips here. alls ya gotta do is read and take notes. best of luck in your endeavors.

SamW