Critique Request Hello All

glstrcowboy

Elite Cafe Member
Hello forum. My name is Michael, and I have been ruining scrap metal with a hammer and chisel for a couple of years. Our Benevolent Dictator's DVD has been helpful, as has The Art of Engraving. This is the first part that I am comfortable posting for review. It has flaws (obviously). Most that I see are flat spots and point errors. Hopefully you all can point out some other things to work on.

P4030205.jpg

Thank you for your time.

Eric Olson

Elite Cafe Member
I would say to make sure your scrolls and leaves touch so that your background areas are completely enclosed.
Also if you have Sam's scroll DVD you might remember that every scroll has a "thumb".

glstrcowboy

Elite Cafe Member
Thank you for your thoughts. The original sketch had the leaves touching so the stippling didn't "leak" out. In cutting it however, I had to make some "adjustments"on the fly. The tool still has a nasty habit of getting away sometimes. I am, however, getting better at hiding those instances. Similarly, when I drew the thumbs on the engraved backbones it highlighted the irregularity of the backbone spacing. The accents you see were my attempt to work around that.

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
my goodness- remember the song, "where has all the shading gone ?" looks pretty good though. i'd also try to make the stippling more uniform. thanks for showing.

glstrcowboy

Elite Cafe Member
Is the intricate shading that some members display possible with a hammer and chisel? I had written that off as something that was only
practical with an airgraver.

glstrcowboy

Elite Cafe Member
I haven't ever attempted the very fine shading lines; I wasn't sure it was practical with a hammer and chisel. I guess I could learn push engraving to do them, but I have enough trouble with this!

Andrew Biggs