Help, please: GRS Graversmith Adjusting...

vondershred

Hey friends,

Hello again! Second post here on this forum. As explained in my first post, I'm new to engraving and and I bought my Graversmith and 901 handpiece last week.

I have been fiddling around with it and I like it so far! I managed to engrave some straight lines and curves in some aluminum testplates. However, after many times watching the Youtube tutorial of GRS, I think something's wrong or off...

This has been the reference I've been using to finetune my Graversmith. I also thoroughly read the instruction manual provided on the USB stick that came with the machine. But again, I think something's off because the equipment I bought doesn't behave this way.

- My handpiece doesn't "knock" when ramping up the pressure. It just buzzes a little and immediately stops. No constant knocking (like heard in the Youtube video) whatsoever.

- Only when the arm in the pressure gauge is past twelve o'clock I feel like the handpiece is ready for engraving. Anything below that is really weak and doesn't do anything, really. When I put my ear to the handpiece in this setting (pressure past twelve o'clock) I hear a constant loud hiss, as if air gets fed to the handpiece to a damaging degree. This worries me because I don't wanna break my equipment and void my warranty. Also, as demonstrated in the Youtube video, the pressure gauge doesn't go past ten o'clock... I know it's a different handpiece but still. I’ve seen many users on this forum using the 901 and everytime their pressure is at 10 o’clock-ish.