Greetings from sawdust land

BWoodworker

Hello all,

As my screen name implies I have been doing woodworking as a hobby for about 20 years. I have decided to try to add some engraving to continue to elevate my game. I enjoy adding marquetry and various inlay in my woodworking pieces and I would like to be able to engrave the hardware and screws that goes into my pieces and ultimately some tools, maybe some endgrain too? I have always loved engraving and got to see some amazing pieces at Blade show and Shot show a long time ago its been in the back of my head ever since.

I hand sharpen my woodworking tools so I plan on learning to do that as quickly as possible with gravers. I will probably use a jig or two to learn what is correct so I can replicate it. For the moment I have few push gravers, just received a GRS magnablock and some other odds and ends. I have a compressor a Makita 700( https://www.makitatools.com/products/details/MAC700 ) I think it has plenty of output for most of the power graver systems.... but I am concerted about if I an use it since its an oiled compressor. Is oil separation and filtration sufficient or do I need to look at an oiless compressor as well? For the next few months at least I will be doing push and hammer and chisel till I recover funds from the vice and learn what I need and want in a power graver.

Anyway I am sure I will be asking lots of questions so thank you in advance, I look foreward to getting to know you all better.

Brad

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
welcome 2 the forum. as for the oil question, i'd seek the answer prior to purchasing a specific model. that way you cant go wrong.. good luck

AllenClapp

Elite Cafe Member
Although the GRS engraving systems need oil-less air, GRS sells an oil-type compressor as its quietest one, so they can be used. However, you need to add an oil filter kit if your oil-type compressor does not already have one on it. GRS sells those as well.

BWoodworker