Question: Graverhone/gravermax shaping/polishing

Shaunjarvis

I’ve been making 1.5mm fishtail rings out of 14k yellow gold and using 60 and 90 cmax gravers. I’m getting lines in my cuts. I am getting the graver completely mirror finish so I’m stumped. As you can tell from my post I’m new to using gravers so I’m likely missing something. I’m using a microscope so I can look at the graver and the cuts and can’t figure out the issue. Was wondering if increasing my spm might help? Is there a standard? Could it be my pressure when I’m making cuts? I’m not sure how hard to push into the metal with the belly. Anyone know of a good resource? Or have any experience with this kind of work? One thing I almost forgot is that it almost seems like the edge of the belly to the face is a little rough even though both surfaces are flat and mirrored..
would appreciate any help. I’m in Portland Oregon in case someone knows anyone here who is into engraving

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
firstly: you should let the tool do the work. you should not have to push the tool at all.

AllenClapp

Elite Cafe Member
You mentioned "lines in your cuts." What kind of lines and where in the cuts? Can you post a photo? Are the lines on the outsides of curves? If so, your heel may need to be shortened to limit heel drag? Have you examined the graver cutting edges with a high-power loupe? Are there chips in the edges?

allan621

:::Pledge Member:::