Graver compatability between Lindsay and GRS handpieces and sharpening systems

BWoodworker

Terrapinstation 's recent post about sharpening brought up a point about graver compatibility between different graver brands hand pieces and sharpening setups.​

I am new to engraving. Specifically in my case I was planning on purchasing a Lindsay Graver and then I thought I would be able to pick and choose between using graver blanks from either GRS or Lindsay and that either sharpening system would be compatible. Seems this may not be correct becuase GRS is primarily round shank and Lindsay is setup for square? Is my understanding accurate or is there a good method for using them interchangeably?

Thank you in advance.

RickDaggle

The GRS collets are 3/32 or 1/8 round with two set screws to also hold square gravers. Idk about Lindsey hand pieces but I imagine they are the same.

DaveatWeirs

They're technically compatible with each other but they fit better with their own setups.
Lindsay blanks are just square rods (sometimes with a taper added to one end), where as GRS do multiple shapes and the bit that fits in the collet can be round, square or rectangular.
The GRS blanks are not great for fitting into the lindsay sharpening templates but you can get em to work with some modifications. The Lindsay templates and blanks can be used with the GRS power hone. On average the GRS blanks are slightly smaller than the lindsay blanks but both fit in the other's collets. Annoyingly their collets are also different sizes so you can't swap em between handpieces.

If you getting a Lindsay setup I'd recommend just going for the Lindsay blanks as the whole set up is designed around them. Like, yea, you can get GRS ones to fit in a lindsay but there's no need to do it unless they're dramatically cheaper.

BWoodworker

Thank you all for the information. This certainly adds an extra wrinkle to the new engravers choices.