Critique Request First time out of the barn

wowilson

Elite Cafe Member
This is my first attempt at bulino work and I think I am going to like it. I will have to come up with a way to not rub off my guides while I am working other sections. I will try to get the wing section retransferred and I should be able to make it work from there.
Mockingbird practice.jpg

wowilson

Elite Cafe Member
Thanks. I thought of using a coating but I thought that the extra thickness of the paint film might throw me off. I have some matte fixative that I will try next time.

Terrezar

Elite Cafe Member
you can just spray it with clear, waterbased hair-spray. A friend of mine uses that for both engravings and scrimshaws, and that keeps the marks where they should be

GTJC460

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Nice first effort. Try doing the same bird at a much smaller scale. I'm guessing that's a 2" plate. Try shrinking your artwork down to 20% of its current size.

As for transferring your design for bulino purposes, I recommend using tracing paper to copy the key features at a large scale. Trace an image at 8.5x11". It's much easier to accurately trace at this scale. Then with either a copier or scanner and photo editing software scale the image down to 3/4" or so. Once you transfer the key features use a carbide scribe point that you gently round the tip on. You want it to resemble a ball point pen but very fine.

The reason is this will produce a nice soft line. Whereas the sharp point tends to scratch too deeply. Plus it's easier to "draw" with tge rounded point.

With this point you indicate in your key features.

This makes a more permanent guide to work from. Plus ink transfers tend to "get in the way" when working really fine.

Mike Fennell

Elite Cafe Member
It is looking very good.