Cross over from machinist to engraving

Rolland

I have been a machinist for most of my life and recently got the engraving bug since I want to make some spurs and bits another new hobby.
I built this die filer a while back for shaping small metal parts, guns and such. For those that might not know they mount a file in the vertical shaft and with reciprocal action used for shaping metal dies. I have found that it is really useful in shaping silver for either inlay or overlay. Now I just need to learn to engrave the parts. Thing is I am proficient in working steel but I have met my match on engraving work, seeing the work shown here I am humbled.

Attachments

• 100_1758.jpg
    100_1758.jpg
    80.2 KB · Views: 286
  • 100_1746.jpg
    100_1746.jpg
    88.6 KB · Views: 287

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
having the ability to precisely shape steel parts is a blessing to those entering the world of engraving. welcome to the forum. don't be shy, share your fotos with us.

mitch

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Now I just need to learn to engrave the parts.

"Let's put a man on the moon. Now we just need to build a rocket." :rolleyes:

remember to enjoy the journey without thinking too much about the destination...

PS- nice job on the profiler.

scott99

Elite Cafe Member
Hi, nice die filer,I belive this is a great place to learn. Have fun and keep it simple at first, time and practice will do the rest.

scott99

dlilazteca

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Read the tip section, everything from start up tools to inlaying gold.

Keep a complete updated profile, there might be someone with experience close by.

Read, read, read, and make good use of the search button.

Merry Christmas, Thanks for joining. :)

Carlos De La O III

Ron Spokovich

Elite Cafe Member