Critique please

thughes

:::Pledge Member:::
::::Pledge Member::::
Just a little practice piece, but it's the first time since some surgery 3 weeks ago that I've actually been able to sit down comfortably for a little while. It's an old English E that I took right out of a book, but it kinda looks like an F to me. This is my first try at a running wheat border since my class with Tira a while back. And then I only did straight lines.

Thanks for looking
Todd

Attachments

• Sevierville sinkholes, Dec 2011 023.jpg
    Sevierville sinkholes, Dec 2011 023.jpg
    73.9 KB · Views: 351
  • Sevierville sinkholes, Dec 2011 022.jpg
    Sevierville sinkholes, Dec 2011 022.jpg
    78.5 KB · Views: 347

Andrew Biggs

Hi Todd

Looks good. Nice to see you doing actual pieces.

Try putting a lot more shading lines in. That gives the running wheat border a lot more depth. Another would be to just make them a little shorter and not so long.

Cheers
Andrew

RoycroftRon

Elite Cafe Member
I would not be afraid to let the vertical elements get closer to the bottom of the E. That would held distinguish it as such and not an F.

Keep up the work! I had a bad gash to my thumb on my tool hand in the beginning of December - right on the outside of the knuckle (7 stitches). I thing jumping back into the work right away helped my mental and physical recovery.

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Todd: Here are a couple of changes I made for your consideration.

1.) cut the boat shapes of the running wheat leaves a bit wider, and bevel them to the inside of the leaf.
2.) space the notches out so the bottom one is near the tip of the next leaf below. Engrave the notches facing more forward as I have done, as opposed to facing left and right.
3.) Since the boats will be cut deeper, you can cut deeper shading lines and have them converge as they approach the boat below. And since the boats will be deeper, the deeper shading chips will break off freely.