Bulino critique please

williamph

Hi this is my first attempt at bulino I think the bass may have been a tough choice for my first project but anyway here it is its a little rough I used a 96 degree point in a Lindsay Palm control, any critique or advice would be appreciated. I feel like the dots are too big maybe? I can just about see them with the naked eye. Thanks!

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    65.8 KB · Views: 426

Thierry Duguet

Elite Cafe Member
I am not sure that I am the most qualify to help you as I do not use pneumatic tools but I can explain how I do it with none assisted tool. I do not think thank bulino work by removing metal but more by displacing it and creating projected shadow at least when one used the dot technique. You create dark spot with a high density of dots and light gray with low density. A dot is best done with a vertical motion, of course you can varied the strength of the dot but within limit as individual dot should not be visible. You may need/want use steel wood to attenuate your gray, give a texture or create a smoother degrade from one tone to the other.
Bulino is not made to create, black and white, line drawing, but more something like pointillism with a richer tonality variety. BTW you need to better polish (600, 800 grip) your practice plate, right now your bulino has to compete with the ruff condition of the surface.
Good luck

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
To do bulino work (actually puntini) as practiced by the Italian masters you will need to use, easily, 10 times more dots. An Italian master like Fracassi may put 100 hours into a figure the size of a postage stamp.

Have you ever seen, in person, a gun or knife engraved in puntini by an Italian master? Images in books and on line do not show you what it actually looks like. Trying to do fine bulino work without seeing the work in person is like trying to paint a picture in the style of van Gogh having only seen a picture of his work.

dlilazteca