Help, please: bulge battle

K Frei

Elite Cafe Member
I Have spent several weeks thinking through a design for a knife, so i decided to bite the bullet and start cutting... I've been having trouble with bulges lately and sadly its already happened on this Knife I'm kinda heart broke:(. are there any tips out there to help make a mistake like this less glaring? if so I'd love to know some. Thank you! K Frei p.s. I really am tying not to have to use crutches like this, i'm just not there yet... please be patient with me, as i try to be with myself Thanks again K Frei

Ray Cover

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Ya a pic would help[ so we can see exactly what the problem is.

Hang in there. This does take a lot of practice and there is a fair learning curve too. Don't feel like asking for help is a crutch. I have been doing this for over 20 years now and I still run into things that I have never run into before. I seek out the advise of others when I need it. This engraving thing is so big you never learn it all. Folks here are happy to help when we can.

Ray

K Frei

Elite Cafe Member
I Am sorry i will not be able to give you a picture as of right now, my computer is down, so I have to borrow one or use my I-pad. I may be able to bring it into work next week and get a photo... I Guess I could simply say my back bone doesn't taper evenly into the center at one point it gets wide again; it almost seems like a separated tire. the sad thing is I was trying so hard not to have this very thing happen.. K Frei

GTJC460

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Your backbone should be a constant width/depth as you really don't roll the graver on these cuts.

When cutting these, really try to think of your arm and wrist as fixed stationary vice link appendage. Most like your bulges are caused by you raising your wrist as you rotate the vice faster as the curve becomes tighter and smaller. Take your time, slow down and really try to control the graver and your wrist.