Question: Bent gravers

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
I'm wondering if adding more heel lift is all you need to do on your flats. The reason liners are bent is because they can't be heeled, so bending them creates more lift.

scott99

Elite Cafe Member
Thanks

I have a few very old gravers(100 + years old )from when my Granfather (long since passed) used them in die sinking, and found them usefull in deep tight spaces. These are more of a legacy than something to be used up so I wanted to try and get replacments.

I will in fact try adusting the heels on some gravers to see if that does the trick, I still don't think far enough with my graver shapes but am learning.:eek: I have been making tools for many years and for some reason I still get fouled up thinking of gravers.:eek: I grind other stuff in 1000 ways but when I get to gravers I stiill put them on a pedestal or something.

The reason I am looking for tight spot knife gravers has more to do with carving Nesuke than engraving.

Thanks for the help again.
scott99 :tiphat:

James Roettger

Elite Cafe Member
Worse that can happen is the temper is off a bit, too soft and the tip bends back, too hard and it chips. Only takes 5 minutes to correct a bad temper by redoing the hardening process and it builds confidence in the process.

silverchip

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
You can make gravers with a lift by soldering a piece of carbide on the end of mild steel and then shaping them to your hearts content. This is one way to relieve the back so it doesn't drag or get caught on someplace that is sticking up like an overlay ect. and you can work it in a concave area ect.

scott99

Elite Cafe Member
graver heel

Hi, I have tryed some different heel angles and found that a 45 degree face with 30 degree heel solved the problem on this job.:happyvise:

Thanks for the heel advice Sam. :tiphat:

Thanks to everyone for their help and advice. :bow:

scott99 :tiphat:

axeman11