Question: 20% heel

Jared Eason

Elite Cafe Member
Has anyone tried a 20% heel ? I'm new to hand engraving and use 304 stainless steel for my work. I tried a 15% 17 1/2% 10% and either kept digging in or couldn't keep an even line depth wise. Kept breaking tips to. But the . 20% seems good for me so far. I'm using the Enset. Just wanted to hear anyone else's opinion on the 20% heel. This is on a 120% geometry

firephil

I use a 20 heel on harder stuff and it works well. That 304 stainless is really hard and that is probably why your tips are breaking

oiseau metal arts

Elite Cafe Member
try out a piece of 416 stainless.

I use 105 graver, 50 face, 15 heel.... cuts like a champ.

silverchip

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I use a 25* heel and a 35* face for Bright cutting silver. Add up the ###### and see what total included angles you use for GP engraving and then add a little more as the material gets tougher!!!!

Jared Eason

Elite Cafe Member
I am someday going to try 316. But I get a really good deal on scrap sheet stainless 304 from a friend of mine who has a metal Fab shop. So right now its not really a preference thing , but more as what I can get at good cost. I am use to welding and working with 304 anyway . So if I can engrave it efficiently its a win win....

Scottyd

I really struggled with 316 stainless (which I ordered by mistake) but 416 was not bad to cut. 303/304 was usable but not as easy as 416.
Scott

Arnaud Van Tilburgh

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I too sometimes use 50° face and 20° heel, sometimes 35° face and 25° heel and even 45°face and 15° heel cuts nice.
And sometimes I use 60° face without a heel. :cool:

arnaud

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
My advice would be to use a nice, soft practice material when learning to engrave, and graduate to harder materials later.

GTJC460

~ Elite 1000 Member ~