Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Engraver's Script Instruction

Hi,

I hope Sam will forgive me for reposting this instructional link. I am a penman/calligrapher with a specialty in a form of shaded script (see my image posted below) that is known by many names including Roundhand, Engraver's script and Engrosser's script. This particular form of shaded script is sometimes described as 'engraving on paper'. Most modern calligraphers would could all of these variants named above as 'Copperplate'.

I have been teaching instructional workshops on this subject for many years. In addition, I have made ALL of my instructional materials (articles and videos) available online without cost on the website of The International Association of Master Penmen, Engrosser's and Teachers of Handwriting at:

http://www.iampeth.com

I am very aware that the approach to forming letters is different for pen versus burin; however, the resultant letter forms should be the same visually. A penman once told me that every shaded stroke of the pen has two lines. As you already know, the pen nib forms these lines in one stroke whereas the burin requires separate strokes. I took his advice to heart and spent MANY hours drawing my letters one line at a time similarly to the way the Engraver for form the letter.

As I've said above, I make ALL of my instructional materials available without cost since my day job pays my bills. At some point I will publish a Book/DVD instructional manual for my style of script. If any Engravers on this site are interested Iíve decided to make my complete Copperplate Workshop Handout available to members of this site. There is no cost and no catch. You may download and print the complete 87 page Workshop Handout at:

http://www.zanerian.com/VitoloBookHandoutComplete3.pdf