Starting up

vilts

Elite Cafe Member
Hello everybody,

I'm new here and totally new to engraving. I'm an ex computer programmer and would-be blacksmith/bladesmith. Anyone interested can check out my progress in blog. As our (me and my father) main focus will be making knives and swords we also want to engrave them to give our customers best possible quality and beauty. But for buying equipment I'm quite confused and I'd like to get your advice on this matter.

First I looked into GRS System 3, which has very good price level. But as I've read from here that this isn't quite up to the task. Next in price would be GRS GraverMax SC, add to this 901 handpiece and I'm around $1000 in price level. I think I'd survive this. But how good is it?

I've read very good reviews on Lindsay AirGraver. Classic handpiece with foot control is around $1200. That would really be the maximum I could pay, actually it's little more than I could pay, but if it's worth it, then it's worth it. I'm tired of crappy tools. Foot control without controls would save some, but do I need these controls? What do they do?

There are some used GRS engravers up in eBay, but unfortunately their shipment is only in US, I live in Estonia, so it's no good.

What options would you kind people suggest?

Second question. What do you think how long it takes to learn engrave decently, so that the engravings really enhance the looks of 'stuff'? I like to believe that I'm little above average in learning and hand skills and I could dedicate around 20 hours in a week to practice this fine art.

Attached is one of swords we've made and it's just aching for nice engraved patterns.

With best regards,
Viljo

Attachments

• blade.jpg
    blade.jpg
    83.9 KB · Views: 254

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Hello Viljo, and welcome to the Cafe.