New to engraving

Hello everyone!

I am a goldsmith living in Norway! I graduated in the spring of 2006, and ever since I've been producing my own jewelry. Every piece is 100% handmade, and unique. I do not produce two of the same design.
In 2008 I started my own firm selling jewelry online. One day I do hope to open my own shop, but that is in the future.

I have always been interested in engraving, but I have not had any way of learning the art from another person. Here it seems that hand engraving really is an extinct art, as there are only three currently working in the capital, all of which are over 60 years old...

To start engraving I bought 22 Müller gravers from a retired engraver, as well as a manual from 1896 (I kinda figured I'd try to learn from the time the machines weren't dominating the art). I see now that trying to learn the old way is really a slow way of going about it.

Fortunately I picked up Sam's DVD on setting stones, and Don Glaser's engraving DVD. After watching the DVDs many times, I decided to order a Gravermax G8 with the 901 hand piece. It has just arrived, and I have been engraving about two hours now, and I must say I am loving the easy flow of the machine!

I bought mr. Meeks book the Art of Engraving, and I've read through it twice. Started drawing the scrolls and following his advice. So far I'm really pleased with my progress. :) I have also started to make my own little booklet filled with designs I've found in books of Ornaments, and images I've found of great engravings. When I become a little more adept with the graver I'll start trying to engrave some of them. :)

I am really glad to have found this forum filled to the rim with talented artists and I hope to get to know you all a lot better!

A special thanks to Sam is in order, for helping me kickstart my career. :) Thanks for showing me the power of the Gravermax. :)

John B.

Lifetime Pledge Member
::::Pledge Member::::
Welcome, Steinar.