+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default First try at inlay

This is my first try, the small section on the right was done first with silver and I think it turned out OK? then I thought about some twisted inlay Ray Cover had at the engraving and I got the bright idea to try it, :beat up: well it may be better next time but I think I'll stick to single wire for now.:big grin: This was the side of a 2" X 2" X 3/16" practice plate Ray gave me so I tried it down one of the sides. It's hard with the twisted wire to get the gaps filled in.

All critique is welcome,
    Kevin
    Attached Images
    Native American Crafts by me and other members of my Tribe
    http://www.leroytwohawks.co.cc/

Post Thanks / Like

Kevin,

Twisted wires looks tough - nice job though!! Nice photos, too.
    Mike Dirle

Help me progress to Master Engraver:
    http://2yearstomaster.com

Post Thanks / Like

Kevin - inlay looks good to me. And i like the twisted wire a lot, even though it is not exactly 'even'. Definitely something to use in the future on your work.

Now that you have the experience of doing it... it looks like silver and copper wire. Is it fine silver? and.. Did you anneal twisted wire before inlaying?

Candy

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the confidence, Candy and yes I anneal the twisted wire before inlaying but probably not enough, and your right it is silver and copper.

Kevin

Quote Originally Posted by CJ Tate View Post

Now that you have the experience of doing it... it looks like silver and copper wire. Is it fine silver? and.. Did you anneal twisted wire before inlaying?

Candy

Post Thanks / Like

I don't know much about inlay, I think on very important thing is that the inlay may not fall out.:big grin:
    One of there days I will have to give that a try also, just wondering how one can be sure the inlay will hold?

arnaud

Post Thanks / Like