Finngerlish scroll

Gemsetterchris

Elite Cafe Member
Monday morning warm up session, took a rest from the paper & pencil to have a stab at this "finngerlish" type scroll.

I quite like them for a first try, plenty more practice to go...

Yes you are allowed to rip into them with your critical nitpicking :big grin:

Last edited:

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Chris: The scrolls on the right which spiral off the large scroll on the left should be facing the opposite direction. Scrolls don't grow as you have done here. It's a common error made by those learning to draw scrollwork. / ~Sam

Gemsetterchris

Elite Cafe Member
Good call Sam, i knew messing with scrolls first thing monday morning was a bad idea :)

I`ll figure it out sooner or later.

Two Claws

Excuse me gentlemen: Revealing myself as a true newbie here.....just so I understand....the two scrolls on the right of the two-lobed C scroll should be 'flipped' over to the left side of the existing C scroll? And if so, is this because the larger lobe of the C scroll is on the left? Or am I just missing your point entirely, Sam? Thanks. (Chris....they looked great to me!:)

KSnyder

Elite Cafe Member
Two Claws, the scroll on the right is growing out of the (back) of the vine so to speak. Vines always progress forward and generally smaller.
Gemsetter, the cutting looks great to me. Just a minor adjustment.:big grin:

Gemsetterchris

Elite Cafe Member
If the big start scroll was reversed its ok i think?
I was spinning the paper so much trying to draw them i got lost on it :big grin:

KCSteve

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Chris,

That would do it. Just think of the scrolls as actual, growing vines and it's easy to see - everything has to come from the origin and work it's way forward. Also helps you remember that things should be largest / most developed at the origin, not the 'new' growth at the end. Although it's usually out at the end where the flowers are...

Gemsetterchris