Good Source for engraving video rentals

Mike Frakes

I found a good source for renting engraving videos. Everyone may already know about SmartFlix.com, but I just happened across it the other day and they seem to have many of the FEGA videos and lots of other titles on engraving and just about any kind of craft or trade. I rented all three videos with Lynton McKenzie from them and they arrived :big grin:today.

I am fairly new to engraving and I have never seen anyone engrave with a hammer. That is quite interesting and Mr. McKenzie makes it look very simple, which I am sure it is not. I'll be sticking with my GRS equipment.

Mike :big grin:

Christian DeCamillis

Elite Cafe Member
Mike, Please be aware that what these guys are doing is probably illegal. They have not purchased the rights to rent those video's. No harm no fowl on your part but, when people rent these videos instead of purchasing them they make the incentive to produce videos less interesting. As a person who has done a video , I can tell you no one is becoming wealthy doing them. Remember as a whole this is a small market. Oginizations like FEGA depend on that revenue, so they can continue to exsist. No one there gets paid for there time. The price charged for the videos for our market is resonable. It helps to promote the art, which in turn raises the level of engraving .This increases the demand for our art.

For example Sam just produced a video for jewelery. What this will cause is more jewelers doing engraving on there rings etc... As customers are made aware that this service is availiable the demand will rise and there will be a lot of work out there for engravers.