Critique Request New member

Casey Jordan

I thought I would introduce myself since I just might learn a thing or two here.
I'm Casey Jordan from Phoenix, Arizona. I went to the GRS training in 2007, and I must say well worth the time and money spent. That was my first time engraving. I wanted to be able to do my own silverwork for my leatherwork and saddle making.

I can kinda hold my own on the leatherworking forum, but here I'm a rank amateur at best.
I'm posting some of my work for critique so I can improve some. I can see some of my mistakes but I don't have a trained eye like you guys (and Gals) do. I still need a lot of practice and experiance to get better.

I would appreciate any critique, tips, hints and just plain old "don't do thats" you have to offer. I'm doing this to learn and improve and any help would be appreciated. I have a pretty thick skin, so don't hold back.

Attachments

• Cody 2008 091 (Medium).jpg
    Cody 2008 091 (Medium).jpg
    83.3 KB · Views: 200
  • samples 028 (Medium).jpg
    samples 028 (Medium).jpg
    167.7 KB · Views: 209
  • Comin' For Ya 016 (Medium).jpg
    Comin' For Ya 016 (Medium).jpg
    51.2 KB · Views: 189
  • my first silver 007 (Medium).jpg
    my first silver 007 (Medium).jpg
    89.9 KB · Views: 222
  • my first silver 020 (Medium).jpg
    my first silver 020 (Medium).jpg
    73.3 KB · Views: 224
  • my first silver 036 (Medium).jpg
    my first silver 036 (Medium).jpg
    104.3 KB · Views: 205
  • samples 018 (Medium).jpg
    samples 018 (Medium).jpg
    104.2 KB · Views: 190
  • samples 038 (Medium).jpg
    samples 038 (Medium).jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 190

Tim Wells

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Looks like fine work to me, you've made some nice keepsakes for folks to wear. Welcome to the forum, you'll find lots of good folks and good info here.

fegarex

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Hi Casey,
Welcome to the group!
It looks great to me but I am not a western engraver so I can't give you any tips.
Rex

ken dixon