First attempts at engraving

James Miller

Please dont laugh, but when looking through my pattern boxes I found these two copper plates that I had engraved back in 1963 when I was an 18 year old apprentice practicing the craft. I had to learn a certain level of engraving for outlining as I did a lot of saw piercing in my career.

Attachments

• Engraving practice puma.jpg
    Engraving practice puma.jpg
    115.6 KB · Views: 333
  • Engraving practice pegasus.jpg
    Engraving practice pegasus.jpg
    65.1 KB · Views: 298

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
we never laugh at such cool looking work ! it has a very nice quality about it !

Charlie

Elite Cafe Member
Well, if you were that good in 1963 when you first started, what do you do today?

doug

I just bought some tools from GRS about a month ago and have been trying to learn how to use them.About all I,ve done so far is scratch up a lot of copper.If that was your first attemp at engraving and it looked that good its obvious I better not quit my day job.

James Miller

I just bought some tools from GRS about a month ago and have been trying to learn how to use them.About all I,ve done so far is scratch up a lot of copper.If that was your first attemp at engraving and it looked that good its obvious I better not quit my day job.