Inlaying mother of pearl

Dr Bob

Hi all, I'm a new member. I'm a full time dentist and part time jeweler. I'm about to tackle a new progect I've never done before. Inlaying mother of pearl (MOP) into gold. My question is, do I create a straight sided trough on both sides and cement the MOP into the troughed gold, or do I treate it like a channel set diamond, create a bevel on the MOP and reverse bevel undercut one side of the trough and "work" the gold on the other staight side of the gold to the other reverse bevel on the MOP. My concern with that is the fragility of the MOP. On the other hand, the cement may fail over time and the MOP will loosen and dislodge.

Does any on have experience with this type of inlay work?

You may e-mail me at norway330@alltel.net if you like or I will check this forum daily.

Thanks so much for your help.

Dr Bob

Don Cowles

Elite Cafe Member
I have done a lot of pearl inlay, but never in gold. The method for inlaying in wood (usually ebony or rosewood) involves scribing around the inlay piece and then creating a mortise within the scribed lines using a straight-sided carbide dental bur in a router base. The hole is slightly shallower than the inlay piece.

I use epoxy in the mortise, and have had no problem with inlays coming out. The epoxy provides a custom "bed" for the pearl piece, smoothing out any irregularities in the floor of the mortise. The pearl is then filed down flush with the surrounding material.

I have doubts about adapting this process to gold, but it's the best I can offer at this point.

nomentalgiant

Elite Cafe Member
Is your project a piece of jewelry or a knife? The answer to your question may differ depending on the application.

.....Oh, and as always, don't forget to post some pictures when you are finished!:)

Doc Mark

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Dr. Bob,