Transfer Solutions Printers

Tira

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I use the transfer solutions product and love the sharp transfers I have been getting. Unfortunately, my printer (Epson C86) just died yesterday and I have to get another printer. I can't seem to find the same model. I have the list of printers that was supplied with the solution, but I have no experience as to the durability of these models. My question is what printers have been used that are reliable and aren't breaking down?

I see that Staples has the C88. Has anyone used this printer? It is probably the easiest one for me to get my hands on.

Thanks.

Cody

Elite Cafe Member
Tira, you may want to try ebay if you liked the c86.

Cody

Sam

Chief Administrator & Benevolent Dictator
Staff member
Tira: The c86 has been discontinued and replaced with the C88. My c86 died too, and I had to get the C88. The c86 inks are different than the new c88, but I put them in the C88 anyway and got them to work. I used the high capacity black for the c86 and it would not fit the C88. In the end, the C88 works fine for transfers. I think any Epson that uses DuraBrite inks will work. As for reliability, I've had the same experienc as you. My printer lasted about a year with very low print volume.

Ray Cover

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
Hey guys I am using a $30 Hp3740 printer I bought at walmart. Yes I said $30.

The ink refills are only $16 for the black. Any inkjet printer in the HP3700 series that uses the HP#27 ink cartridge works well for this purpose.

Best of all they are very cheap printers so if it only last you a couple years so what. Mine has past the year two mark and still going though.

Ray

Glenn

Elite Cafe Member
Good information! I'm just starting on using the transfer fluid method so the printer is my next investment. I notice the ink cartridge for the c88 is almost as much as the printer ($60 vs $90). Is this what you are experiencing Sam?