First post - Engraving a ring

Vin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4vF9tgiLog

Dear all,
This is my first post and i'm new to the engraving scene. I thought I'd introduce myself with a video.

I have wanted to learn to engrave for a while, however, apart from online resources, I do not have easy access to lessons. Eventually, I finally decided to build an engraving machine. - Thanks to Sean Hughes for the inspiration and time he takes to create his videos. Since building the machine, the engraving I have been learning is by trial and error.

Above is a sped up video of some engraving practice. There were 2 graver slips - nothing major. The thermoplastic bulge made that section of engraving difficult - mistake now learned from. The design follows a scroll pattern along one axis. I am using an optivisor type device for magnification, and a small LED light source.
Please feel free to give tips to help me improve.

Kind regards,
Vin

monk

Staff member
::::Pledge Member::::
it appears that you don't need too many tips to become really proficient at the craft. your trial & error technique looks good to me. thanks for showing.

Vin

Thank you for the likes and comments. As everything in life, I expect engraving to be a constant learning process.

Following the video, I decided to try background removal for the first time. I used the same ring, and 96 degree graver. I had some realisation that this was the wrong tool, but nevertheless, took the risk.
I ended up needing to go over all the outlines again because removing the background caused the scroll outlines to loose their sharp edges.

Kind regards,
Vin

monk

Staff member