Help, please: Intro And a Question On Heels

borderbasser

Hello, first time poster here. I want to start of by thanking Sam for this site and everyone who generously contribute.

I am a law enforcement officer in South Texas. I have only been engraving for about two months now and am very green but about as handy as they come. I am on a pretty tight budget and don't really aspire to take this much further than a hobby that I have been interested in for years. I have thus far made my own gravers from files, planner blades and a allen wrench. My vise is a converted 4 jaw lathe chuck. I am mainly interested in western style bright cut engraving, and what some might call Texas style. I have a attached a pic of my first buckle in steel, nickel, and brass. It's obviously far from perfect in design and execution but I am proud of it given only two months of experience in brazing, and engraving and essentially being self taught. I also plan on making my daughters a buckle for Christmas.