Critique Request Scroll practice

WSammut

With all these posts about the importance of drawing and tips going around I decided to set down the graver for a while and pick up the pencil (and eraser) in an attempt to up my designs. I've set myself a challenge of one in depth drawing a week with increasingly difficult boarer shapes and trying to fill as much space as I can.
Week one
Image (14).jpg
Week two
Image (13).jpg
Week three
Image (12).jpg
I can already see the improvements I've made on my own just from practice. Please critique my progress and any improvements I can make for my next few weeks. What books/dvds could I benifit from at this stage? I have Sam's DVD and just got Advanced Drawing of Scrolls but figured I'd improve my basics more defore getting into that book.
Thanks for the help
Jay

mdengraver

~ Elite 1000 Member ~
I'm no expert. I like your designs. In this case, I believe less is more! I think you perhaps have too much detail. I would simplify your designs and reducing some of the shading and allow the eye and perception to be drawn in to the 3 dimensionality. If you provide too much detail the viewer gets information overload. Just my opinion and my initial reaction; otherwise you're definitely on the right track and understanding how to put realistic life into your foliage and into to your scrollwork!

Last edited:

WSammut

Thanks. That is definitely something I noticed after the 2nd drawing. I had too much shading and it was difficult to tell one element from another or the inner parts from the putter parts of some and I tried less shading on the 3rd

Eric Olson

Elite Cafe Member
I also agree with the less-is-more critique.
Pay attention to how you finish the "knobs" at the ends of your scrolls -
In his video Sam calls them "thumbs", and everybody needs one. It's just a little curl that makes it look like a bud opening up.
Also avoid what I see as a "canoe", like at the center of week 2's sketch.

Roger Bleile

~ Elite 1000 Member ~